Road Trips and Word Counts

The problem with writing a road trip piece is that you have to leave most of it out. Word counts (the size of an article) are getting smaller because attention spans are shrinking, advertising is down, space is limited, blah blah blah. But every now and then you can’t resist doing an article with a bigger scope, especially when it’s Arizona and there’s a whole lot to see.

If I'm alone how did I take this picture?

If I'm alone how did I take this picture?

For my latest  article on Arizona, here’s a few things that didn’t make it in:

Morning Hike at the Grand Canyon

Heading along the Rim Trail in the early morning, it was cloudy, the wind was moaning and really, it was a bit eerie. I didn’t see anyone until I got to a lookout, where two teenage girls were staring down at the canyon.

“They should be an escalator here,” one said.

“That would be cool,” said the other.

“Or a roller coaster.”

Yah! Or maybe totally cover it in plastic and call it an amusement park! Really, instead of a roller coaster or an escalator, the most fun way to go down, in my opinion, is by donkey. I was told you needed to book months in advance, but when I was there there had been a cancellation and I could have done it, except I had to get to Sedona by a certain time. I could have cried, I wanted to do that trip so badly.

Groovy Groovy Flagstaff

This high-altitude city (elevation 7000 feet) is cooler than Scottsdale, surrounded by ponderosa pine and reminds me of a edgy southern Seattle. What’s really important, however, is that an amateur astronomer discovered Pluto from Flagstaff’s Lowell Observatory, one of the oldest observatories in the U.S. in 1930.

 

Where's Pluto?

Where's Pluto?

Don’t get me started on Pluto, a fine upstanding planet until ignobly reduced to dwarf planet status in 2006. So what if it has a wonky elliptical orbit, is mostly made up of rock and ice, and, some say, is nothing more than a celestial snowball? Moody mysterious Pluto will always be a planet to me.

Scottsdale and the Little Gold Dress

Scottsdale is warm, upscale and scenic, with lots of chic hotels and spas. Touring it by Segway is fun, but in the end, I did not get the gold dress. Someone else beat me to it.

Where are the shops?

Where are the shops?

Leave a Reply

